Fordham’s Greenhagen Finalist for National Scholar-Athlete Award


Fordham University’s Ryan Greenhagen is one of 15 finalists for the 2022 William V. Campbell Trophy, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame recently announced.

The trophy is given annually to college football’s premier scholar-athlete for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. The 15 finalists were selected from the 156 semifinalists nationwide who are NCAA or NAIA football players. 

Nominees were nominated by their school; are seniors or graduate students in their final year of eligibility; are first-team players or significant contributors to their team; have a grade-point average of at least 3.2; and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Greenhagen, a linebacker at Jesuit-run Fordham with a 3.85 grade-point average as a business administration major, set an NCAA record with 31 total tackles in a game at Nebraska. The graduate student finished with 102 total tackles, 46 solo tackles and three sacks in five games before suffering a season-ending injury.

Last season, Greenhagen was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and earned league, district and national all-academic honors.

Greenhagen will be with the other finalists at the Bellagio Resort & Casino in Las Vegas for the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, where their accomplishments will be highlighted. 

Three other finalists also attend Catholic colleges: running back Jake Chisholm, University of Dayton, Ohio (Marianists), 3.98 GPA, pre-medicine; running back Peter Oliver, College of Holy Cross, Worcester, Mass. (Jesuits), 3.95 GPA, chemistry and Spanish; and defensive lineman Michael Wozniak, St. John’s University, Collegeville, Minn. (Benedictine) 3.86 GPA, accounting.   

The finalists will each receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship.

“We are extremely proud to announce the finalists for this year’s Campbell Trophy,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton, a Campbell Trophy recipient, and Eli were NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. 

“These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. As strong leaders in the vein of the trophy’s namesake Bill Campbell, they all serve as living examples that the Future For Football is bright. We are excited to honor their hard work and outstanding leadership with postgraduate scholarships.”